Mida Creek Sundowner Dhow Ride – The Real Utamu

So much has been happening. My peoples are getting married (congratulations Ann, your wedding was just the one!), baby shower invites nearly every weekend, engagement shoots flooding my timeline etcetera etcetera. Well, I am just here sipping Dasani. This is the beauty of life. Enjoying every step of your journey, celebrating your milestones and joining your peoples when they mark theirs. We tend to compare our journey with others, yet we know that He who orchestrates all this has a grand plan for each and everyone of us. Besides, I cannot begin to think how mundane it would be if all our stories were similar. Jeez! Who would read my blog because technically then, we would all be writing? 😀

I really needed to pause (thank the heavens for off-days) for a minute and take it all in… My journey that is :). My routine this week has been eat, sleep, r̶a̶v̶e̶  sleep some more, repeat. Oh, and also trying to figure out where the days are flying to.

All that aside. Remember my visit to this amazing place in Watamu? This sundowner dhow ride was yet another one of my greatest moments down at the Coast. Our team had had a busy day and only assembled at the Turtle Bay Resort, Watamu, at around 5.00 p.m, which was actually a tad late for the sundowner. The very helpful lady at the reception lounge helped us to our waiting vans. The creek is about a 10 minutes drive away from the resort so it was a pretty short drive.

I always try to lose myself totally when travelling or trying out a new place.

IMG_7180

Don’t expect. Only exception is expect to have fun. Think positive thoughts 🙂 Just go and be wowed!

IMG_7191

The traditional dhow…our ride for the next 2 hours or so

When I got on board and got this garland, all I could think of was Bora Bora Island. Sorry Mida Creek for cheating on you.

IMG_7195

IMG_7226

Our mixologist

IMG_7261

Mida Creek offers approximately 10km of unspoiled mangrove-lined waters where the only human inhabitants are a handful of local fishermen casting their nets in the traditional manner.

IMG_7258

IMG_7240

Sips…

Now if you know me, I have a thing for sunrises and sunsets. Well, I mean, who doesn’t? Not seeing the sun rise might mean that you have tuned to another frequency *Read dead*.

IMG_7260

IMG_7253

‘But first, let me take a selfie’

The huge ball of mellow colours hanging like a tangerine in the dusking sky. The fiery orange backdrop. The still glistening waters. What’s not to love about this sight?

IMG_7270

Look at her. Sigh! Watching her go to bed was just breathtaking. I couldn’t have wished to spend that evening any other way.

IMG_7285

IMG_7286

TIP:

  • The dhow ride is organized by Turtle Bay Resort. Make arrangements prior so that you get to head to the creek early enough. You need to start your dhow trip early to get to enjoy the sunset before dark falls.
  • Carry a shawl/sweater. It can get nippy atop the dhow.
  • Carry a camera…it’s always good to freeze these moments in time, especially such gorg sunsets.
  • Wear something comfortable. The traditional dhow has some throw-on pillows.
  • Come hungry and thirsty. Lots is served on board.

Sig_mylifesmelange_

2 thoughts on “Mida Creek Sundowner Dhow Ride – The Real Utamu

  1. Hey. Great read as always, missed this one.
    I have a favour to ask of you, could you kindly share with us the estimated cost/charges for such? That would be really great for super planners like us.
    Thanks.
    🙂

    Like

Leave a comment